Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Release day giveaway!

To celebrate the release of Her Stand-In Boyfriend, we have a blog tour and Rafflecopter contest going on for some Amazon gift cards!


 

Join us and enter for a chance to win! Code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Her Stand-In Boyfriend is now available!

Her Stand-In Boyfriend is out today!




This boyfriend business is about to get a whole lot more personal...

Event planner Lexi Mannis has a busy life in Chicago - too busy to have a boyfriend. For special occasions, she has her Stand-In Boyfriend, Mac Northrop. Mac offers (almost) all the perks of a real boyfriend - furniture assembly, a date to big events, and someone to cook for. But they've never been "with benefits"...until one wickedly hot night crosses the line.

Mac's been in love with Lexi for ages. He knows he should probably end it, but dammit, he just can't. When things get deliciously down and dirty, Mac is certain that he's made the leap out of the friend zone...until Lexi decides she wants to remain friends. With benefits.

What Lexi doesn't know is that she's running out of time. And if she won't promote Mac to Real Boyfriend, she might just lose her Stand-In Boyfriend to someone else...




Wednesday, July 15, 2015





Last week I stumbled across a reader review for my upcoming book Major Misconduct that really made me cringe. I know I shouldn’t be reading reviews and I know I shouldn’t respond to them, but after giving it some thought, I decided I would post this.


The reader was disappointed in Major Misconduct because the publisher has tagged it “perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo” and she didn’t agree. Obviously she’s a big fan of those authors, but what made me cringe was when she implied that I’d read Toni’s and Sawyer’s (and Jaci Burton’s) books and tried to copy them.

I found that very offensive, but I’m going to choose to believe this reader thought that was a way of describing the book and didn’t intend to be insulting.

I’ve never read Toni or Sawyer or Jaci’s hockey books (I have read other Jaci Burton books). I’ve read pieces of Toni's and Sawyer’s books, and they do seem quite different from mine.This reader may also not have been aware that Major Misconduct is not the first hockey romance I've written - it's my sixth -- and that my first hockey romance was published in March 2011, which was before those other authors’ hockey romances were published.

Just wanted to clear that up.

Friday, July 10, 2015

Limited TIme Offer snippet

Here's a bit of one of my favorite scenes from Limited Time Offer...




Levi whistled as he strolled back to Scott’s office, where he was doing something crazy with Photoshop, working on the ideas they’d come up with. “Check it out.”

Levi peered at his monitor. A big hairy dude reclined in a bathtub full of bubbles reading a book, his feet hanging over the edge, a glass of wine sitting on the side of the tub. With no copy, the only words were on the label of the beer bottle in the bottom right corner—Flying Pigs Pale Ale.


Levi grinned. “Yeah! Perfect.” Just what they’d talked about.


“And this one.” Scott clicked his mouse. Another image appeared, this one two men holding hands.
Levi shook his head and sighed. “Nah. That one doesn’t work. Too homophobic.”


“I thought so too. One more.”


Another dude in a pink tank top and tiny athletic shorts appeared, again with the Flying Pigs Pale Ale bottle.


“Awesome.”


“Last one.”


Back to the hairy dude in the bathtub who had one leg out of the water covered with shaving foam and a shaver in his hand. Levi snorted with laughter. “I fucking love that one.”


Scott grinned. “Okay.” He turned away from his computer. “We need to get to work on the Natural Belgian Blonde. You know where we’re going with that one.”


“Pamela Anderson.”


“Dude. Natural blonde.”



“Can we make some kind of joke about the curtains matching the carpet?”


“Fuck no!” Scott paused. “Besides, these days there isn’t as much carpet.”


“Ahaha!” Levi laughed so hard he just about split a gut.


Scott laughed too.


Then… “I know!” Levi just about blew up. “There’s no actual blonde woman in the ad. Just a picture of carpet and drapes. That don’t match. No, no…they do match. Perfectly. With some kind of crazy pattern.”


“Ah!” They leaped up and high-fived each other. “Hang on, hang on.” Scott clicked his mouse a few times and Pharrell William’s “Happy” blasted from his computer. They both started dancing. Levi had his arms in the air and was thrusting his pelvis when Joseph Huxworth walked by. Joseph paused and eyed them. And he wasn’t alone. Presumably that was a client. Crap.


Levi dropped his arms and jerked his head at Scott, who lunged for his computer mouse and cut the music.


“Uh, hey, Mr. Huxworth.” Levi smiled. “Just celebrating our incredible creative genius.”